About Us

The Greater Kansas City Football Coaches Association (GKCFCA) was formed in the spring of 1991. The purpose of the Association is to:

  • Support and improve the quality of football in the Greater Kansas City area;
  • Provide programs which recognize excellence at the participation and coaching levels; and
  • Create educational opportunities through on-going development of a scholarship fund.

GKCFCA Board of Directors

Mike Zegunis, Olathe West — President
David Allie, Grain Valley – Vice President
Anthony Orrick, Blue Valley Southwest – Secretary

Kansas Board Members

Andrew Wright, Sumner
Chris Brindle, Piper
Tim Callaghan, Shawnee Mission West
Rod Stallbaumer, Basehor-Linwood

Missouri Board Members

Leon Douglas, North Kansas City
Kevin Keeton, Oak Park
Mark Faubion, Excelsior Springs
Bryan DeLong, Center

Past Presidents

Harold Albin, Raytown
Paul Brown, Blue Valley
Sam Brown, Excelsior Springs
Rick Clark, Spring Hill
Dick Purdy, Lawrence
Greg Reynolds, Park Hill
Chip Sherman, Platte County
Harold Wambsgans, Lee’s Summit North
Gene Wier, Olathe North
Buddy Young, Blue Springs South
Greg Smith, Smithville
Mike Berg, Baldwin
Kyle Roach, Pleasant Hill
Tom Radke, St. James Academy
Sam Knopik, Pembroke Hill